There is normally one weekly Sunday service at St Georges from 11am – 12am.
Click here To see the main parish calendar , that includes all events, at both St Peter and St Pauls, as well as those those at St.Georges, (which are specifically marked “St Georges”).
The small church is an attractive building of 12th and 15th century work with alterations and additions occurring in the 13th and 14th centuries. Although the open trussed roofs are of early date the wooden spire clad with shingles is of recent date replacing the original after a fire in 1946.
The interior is simple with mosaic frescoes on the east wall with tombs of the Gainsford family flanking the chancel, one of which is in cast iron probably unique in this country. The font is of Saxon origin apparently and the linenfold panelled pulpit and lectern are reputedly from the Gainsford family house, Crowhurst Place.
The churchyard contains graves, many being well-kept, stretching back several centuries, as well as a hollow yew tree, believed to be 4,000 year old, and whose immense branches are carefully supported. There is a handsome lychgate dating from the 1930′s.
For more information, please contact the church secretary, Victor Din Tel: 01342 834286.